Biggest Loser RunWalk Series — An Amazing Experience

Just over a year ago, I was starting my journey in earnest and was participating in The Biggest Loser online program. I received a promotional email for the The Biggest Loser RunWalk 5K. I signed up as I was already running in the gym on a treadmill 20-30 minutes and thought the sense of accomplishment would be good for ongoing motivation. I signed up and had certain expectations from a 5K that I had participated in several years before. The actual experience exceeded my expectations.

13022-999-0740From the time I arrived, there were people to show me where to park and tell me where to go after that to sign in and pick up my packet. At packet pick-up, the volunteers made sure I had all the information I needed on how to put on my bib number, including the safety pins that I needed. The packet came in a souvenir drawstring bag that I could “check” like a coat check while I was running. They made sure I knew how to use the pull off ticket from my bib, attach it to my bag and where to check the bag for retrieval after the run. At no time, did anyone assume I should already know what to do. Every effort was made to make sure I was comfortable with the process and felt welcome. I was encouraged at every step of the way. During every stage there was someone there to make sure I had a good experience and I was encouraged. There were several water stops along the way and the route was well marked. The finish line was populated with people to cheer me on and celebrate my achievement. There were photographers to make sure your finish was well captured.

13022-990-0464There was food and drink for recovery at the finish line. There were lots of various vendors there as well as a small stage with a Biggest Loser style scale and back drop. Everyone got to take their picture on the scale with their finisher’s medal. There was a band. Dan and Jackie Evans were there and available for autographs. Times were posted quickly for everyone to review. For many it was the first time for any such event and the first time they had run or walked 5K in their life. The finish line area had a celebratory feel. It was an fantastic experience.

I enjoyed it so much, I’m going back this year to run the half marathon distance.

If you are going to run a 5K for the first time, I highly recommend this experience. You can check their website for locations in your area.   http://www.biggestloserrunwalk.com/

If you are running in Austin, TX on March 30, 2014, please use code BLOGGERLIZ for 25% off your registration.

Click the link below to download the flyer for the event in Austin, TX.

Austin Flyer 2014

Leave a Reply

